The craziest week of the year

07.01.2009 at 2:47 PM


Well this has been my busiest week in a long time. I have been not only a house guest but a hostess twice over and it is lasting for the rest of the week. We started with Friday heading up to Owen Sound to visit some of Evan�s friends so they could all go to a Tragically Hip concert. As I was not interested in the concert (10,000 people in one place holds little interest for me) I stayed home and watched their daughter for the evening. I had never been to Owen Sound before and was pleasantly surprised to find it a well-kept active little town. Definitely a place I would like to visit again.
Sunday morning we rushed to hit the road so we could get home before my sister and her five boys showed up. Luckily for us they got lost a few times on the other side of the border which gave us time to finish cleaning the house, get fresh groceries and even rest for a bit. Her boys are 12, 8, almost 4, and 8 month old twins. Quite a handful for a two-day drive without her husband to help but they seemed to survive quite well. We haven�t seen them since February 2008so it was nice to catch up with the boys and get to meet the twins. What good babies they are and make the cutest and strangest array of sounds! Evan insists that Joseph sounds like a Wookie, while to me he sounds just like the little man in the Pixar ad who flies around and fixes his can of cow noises. You know what I mean. Anyway, Joseph can trill his tongue and it sounds just like that guy flying around. Of course it bugs Clark to no end because he cannot recreate that noise. His tongue just doesn�t work that way. Anyway, we went to a local mini zoo that was the perfect size for the boys and even had a great splash pool for them to all cool off. They got to see Niagara Falls Monday evening with Evan. I stayed home with the twins and managed to get dinner on the table by the time they got home. What a feat that was! Babysitting 8 month old twins and BBQ-ing in the rain is a pretty big task! and then Tuesday after I went back to work they hit the road.
Before I was home from work Tuesday my in-laws had arrived. Evan and his dad are playing in two tournaments this week which leaves me with his mom, when I�m not at work that is. Last night was just catching up and then we went and met the guys at the club for dinner after their practice round.
Today Evan and his dad are in a parent/child tournament and tonight is the Canada Day fireworks. So once again Evan�s mom and I will head over to the club after they have finished with golf. Tomorrow Evan will be back at work and his parent�s are on their own. I�m sure we will go out for dinner and spend the evening puttering around.
Then Friday AND Saturday Evan and his dad are back at the club in a 2-day tournament which leaves me to finish up my work week and figure out something to do with his mom for Friday night and Saturday. She has kindly offered so spend much of her time while she is at our house helping me catch up on weeding, but after a few minutes in my cottage-style garden area I�m more concerned about that than relieved. She tried to pull several things that weren�t weeds and stepped all over some tiny plants that have just germinated from seed. I appreciate that she wants to help but I worry about how much of my garden will be left.
But once Sunday comes our house will be ours again. We are travelling to a nearby Botanical Garden where Evan�s Dad actually worked in his youth and then from there they will drive home. So it will still be a tiring day, but it will be nice to come home to an empty house. Not that I mind having guests, I just get really stressed about it. So a sigh of relief is in my near future.




bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link