My Own Personal Twilight

06.30.2009 at 1:58 PM



I have finally given in to the pressure to read Twilight. While I often shy away from so many mainstream things (such as Harry Potter) I finally through I�d give this one a try. For several reasons actually. People have been telling me for years that I should ready Twilight and that I�d really like it, but I�d been told the same thing about Harry Potter and I�ve just never been able to get into it.

Two weeks ago someone lent Evan the movie and we watched it. I thought the movie was pretty good, and knowing how so often I like the books better than the movies they are made into, I decided to plan on reading it. So I asked my mom to send her copies when my in-laws were coming to visit. (The fact that my mom has bought the books is strange in itself since she doesn�t do that very often, but she also was into all the Harry Potter�s so I hadn�t used that as a gauge before). BUT, then we were at Costco and I saw I could buy all 4 books for under $60 so I just went ahead and got them.

It was interesting reading the first book after seeing the movie. I had watched the movie three times by this point and had caught most of the small things that you notice after you know what�s going on. Of course, Evan says I am addicted. He doesn�t really know me when I�m really addicted to something. He should have seen me in grade five when I lived and breathed Michael Jackson! I wrote this off as a normal level of interest in comparison to that!

Anyway, the first book was good, gave more detail and reason behind the simple actions and lines spoken in the movie. So now I have started the second one and I have to say, so far I am having a hard time with it, but not for reasons you or I might have guessed. The thing is, I am only maybe a third of the way into the book, so any of you who have read it know more than I do about the story, but I have to say that I am regressing. This whole section when Edward has left her all alone and she is living in a fog trying to pretend to the people around her that she is not falling apart inside. The way that is it written, from the mind of a teen in love, who has lost in such a dramatic way, well it really has hit home with how I felt when Steven went missing. Funny huh? That I can draw a parallel between my life and a teen vampire romance? The only thing that really makes it easy for me to read this part is that I KNOW he is going to end up back in the story. But she doesn�t know that, and with Steven I was at a loss much like she is.

Anyway, I was wondering if someone who hadn�t had such a loss at that same age would really feel it like I am. I just keep reading in the hopes that this part will be over soon.



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link