And now for something completely different...

12.05.2011 at 1:30 AM



I really don't want this to be the place I run to when I have nowhere else to go.

So I am totally switching mode and going to talk about something completely different.�

Every year I make an effort to make instead of buy, at least some of the Christmas presents I am giving, and this year is no different. Embroidered tea towels, bath scrubs and homemade toothpaste are making the list this year. That's right homemade toothpaste.�

One thing I am also trying out, with myself as a guinea pig first is oil face cleanser. That's right, you clean your face with oil. The basic premise, which makes sense to me, is that water will not dissolve oil. So trying to get rid of natural facial oils with harsh water-based cleansers is never going to work. So the idea is you mix a few different oils to make your own product that is a makeup remover, cleanser, and moisturizer all in one. The key is that one of the oils has to be castor oil as it had dissolving properties to clean out your pores. Apparently, it's do good at this, that using it straight would Ve too drying. Yes, an oil that would actually dry out your skin.�

You can read more about the whole theory and approach here:
http://www.theoilcleansingmethod.com/

Anyway, my family is always looking for more natural options so I am using myself as a guinea pig and then mixing up a batch for my mom for Christmas. She and I have similar combination skin so I hope I can get a formulation that will work for both of us.

Tonight I tried it for the first time and so far so good. My dry areas seem smoother than normal but not tight or itchy and my oily areas are not oily yet. I think I will start with it as a night time regimen to star with and see how it goes.�

bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link