Floating Away

02.09.2009 at 6:46 PM


I can't wait for a long weekend. Normal weekends seem to go so fast and I never seem to get much done although at the time I feel like I'm making progress.

This weekend I don't think we got much done that we had planned on doing. Around mid-day on Saturday as I laid down to have a nap (someone's snoring has been making it hard for me to get a solid night's sleep) I heard a dripping. I got up and quickly found that is was coming through the ceiling in our sunroom. Evan immediately went outside to size up the situation. Several inches of ice had build up on the roof and seemed to be preventing the water from escaping from the roof. Step ladder and hammer in hand he went out and started chipping away at what he could reach. Within and hour he realized that in order for the problem to stop we'd have to get all the ice off that section of roof. So we hopped in the car and went and got a decent ladder and came back and he got right back to work. With the new ladder, the hammer, and my garden hoe he managed to clear off the whole thing. The leak stopped long before he finished which makes me believe it had more to do with the water being pushed back up under the shingles by the ice since water streaming down the roof didn�t cause a leak. We still need to have a professional look at it, but within twelve hours the bit that we could see had seeped into the wall had not only receded but dried substantially. There is still a bit of tell-tale paint along the edge that has a funny little wrinkle, but I think as long as we keep that roof free of build-up we will be fine. It�s just a matter of figuring how to do that on an ongoing basis.
At the same time the lawn has become a pond. Well just the one side, the side where there is an existing leak into the basement. We knew about this before we bought but weren�t too worries because we�d been told the property had been newly graded and the home inspector signed off on it. Of course how much can you tell under a foot of snow? So we need to also come up with a plan to divert water and build up that side yard a bit to keep the water away from the foundation. Anyway, what a way to spend the weekend, worrying which leak will be worse.
:P



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link