Topaz

12.11.2006 at 9:08 AM


After Japan�s attack on Pearl Harbor, America imprisoned thousands of Japanese-Americans in internment camps in several remote locations spread over the US. One of these camps was called Topaz and was right here in Utah. More than 8000 Japanese-Americans were held prisoner for the duration of WWII in this remote camp fenced with barbed wire and patrolled by armed guards.
This weekend I took Robyn along and we went and found the site of the camp. All that really remains are broken chimneys, some gravel roads in a simple grid pattern, and some concrete slabs from some of the buildings. Most of the buildings were simple planks with tarpaper over them, not exactly weather-appropriate for an area that is an arid desert, dry and hot in the summer and cold and windy in the winter.
After the war the buildings were sold to local residents to use as sheds and such, some people even have them as additions added on to their homes. None of the buildings are still on the property but a local museum has one small one on its site.
I felt so sad wandering the property but found little rays of hope when I found things like what had obviously been a small garden. It has a little rock retaining wall that curved against where one of the buildings would have stood. It just made me somewhat relieved that someone put in such an awful situation could still do something positive.

We spent hours, basically until we filled up our digital memory cards and mother-nature was telling us to go find a bathroom. I think I might go back because I didn�t realize how large the property was and I feel like I should see it all. It is very sad to me to think that so many people lived on that land against their wills, in poor housing, with no real rights. Towards the end we found a few foundations with small signs identifying what the buildings were; laundry, hospital, etc, but one thing I expected was a cemetery, because I�m sure in the years they were there that some people passed away.
Also the website about the camp says that there is a monument near the site, but we could not fine one.

After we left the actual site we went back into town and found the local museum to see if we could get more information but it was closed. What kind of museum is closed on a Saturday afternoon? Maybe I will call ahead next time.

Anyway, here is a website with more information and of course, I am posting pics on my flickr page.


bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link