class entries- week 1

08.29.2006 at 2:01 PM


had to start journal entries for class... figured I'd post them here too :)


#22- Begin with �I Remember.� Write lots of small memories. If you fall into one large memory write that.

I remember being young and being acutely aware that I was young. I remember thinking that grown-ups were stupid for forgetting how old they were. For having to stop and figure it out. When you are young your age is such a defining characteristic. Three. I�m three. I AM THREE!. I remember realizing that grown-ups forgot a lot. They never could remember when something had happened, or how old they were when they went on a certain trip. How could they not remember?
I remember sitting in the back of our metallic olive green two-door car. The kind with vinyl seats that your legs stick to in summertime. I was in the backseat thinking of how this was one of those perfectly normal every-day type of things that a grown-up would forget. I am three. I held my small doll in both hands and spoke directly to her, �I am three. I am three and I will remember this�

#27
Visualize a place that you really love. Write about it in a way that a reader would feel how you love it, not because you say you love it, but by how you handle the details

The light filters in through the leaves of the big tree in the corner of the yard. Dappled light I think is what they call it. Dappled and dancing it comes through the slats in the unpainted wooden shutters. These shutters rarely feel the full force of the sun, there are so many trees and leaves. Plus, the shutters are on this side of the windows, just to add more a feel of privacy in the evenings when the lights inside illuminate the room so it can be seen from the road.
Shutters inside. It�s never seemed odd to me until this moment, watching the dapples dance, curled up under a handmade quilt on the loveseat. But then again, the walls in this room have wooden shingles. I wonder if that�s a fire hazard with the woodstove only a few feet away? They recently replaced the large cast-iron stove with this red enamel box-style stove. The old stove had such a solid feel to it. Constant. Unmovable. This red one looks pretty, and surprisingly gives off as much heat even though it�s a third of the size. That leaves more room now. More space to pile up wood, to prepare for a long cozy evening in the room with the wooden shingles on the walls and mini shutters keeping the warm scene gathered close.


bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link