I�m NOT a hypochondriac!

07.14.2006 at 8:15 AM


So I went to the doctor last week. My old doctor has retired and I needed to go see my new guy to get some prescriptions updated. While I was there I talked to him about checking my thyroid. I have been told by several people that they suspect I have thyroid problems and that I should get some more extensive testing done. (One of these people being my aunt, who not only has thyroid problems, but is also an RN) Every time I mentioned it to my old doctor he ran the basic test which always came back normal. So I took the opportunity with the new doctor to explain this and once again express that I would like further testing. He said he didn�t know what more we could do since the basic test they do (the one I�d already had done several times) is over sensitive and often will show problems that aren�t even there. I point blank asked if there were other thyroid tests (knowing that there were because bv had the same issue where the basic test showed nothing wrong but when they went into further testing the found there actually were problems) so he answered yes but seemed doubtful that they would show anything, plus he said my insurance might not pay for them and they are really expensive�duh, if I come in and ask for FURTHER testing don�t tell me there isn�t much more we can do when there ARE indeed other tests!
Anyway, I told him that I didn�t care if I had to pay for them out of my own pocket, that I wanted the testing. But by that time it was after-hours and the blood-lab was closed.
So Monday I went and had blood drawn. (You should see the bruise I still have, the size of a spoon! I don�t even get bruises like that when I do platelets! Oh, and BTW, I took pics that last time I went to give platelets, if you want to see them you can start here)
Anyway, I hadn�t heard anything by yesterday so I called the dr�s office. The receptionist checked my file and the date of the tests and said everything came back normal. Hmmm. Ok, so that left me wondering is my sleeping patterns are actually what causes my fatigue and consistent weight gain.
So I went home and had a nap, which is one of the things that had spurred the want for more testing, I am sleepy all the time. I nap several times a week and excessively on the weekends. When I woke up from my nap I noticed the message light on my home phone was blinking. There was a message from my doctor saying hey, guess what, your thyroid actually IS �out of whack� and I needed to call him to discuss what we are going to do about it.
So what the freak was the receptionist looking at?
And yay! Maybe there is a cause for my fatigue and I�m not just lazy!
So, called the office already and left a message with the (idiot) receptionist with my cell# so he can actually get a hold of me when he gets in.
Never thought I�d be so happy about being diagnosed with a problem, but now that we know there really IS something going on that means we can try to fix it!



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link