Part II

10.01.2005 at 5:38 PM


realized I accidentally gave the password to asshat- finjamartens� so sorry to the rest of you for the password switcheroo

PART II

so we went for coffee and met his friend there. We chatted, mostly me listening to their stories, and finally the boy had convinced his friend that he cold get the X from him. but it was at his place and if he went out there with him how would he get home? I of course offered to be the cabbie and the boy and I headed to my car so we could follow his friend to his place. We were walking to the car and I could tell his mood was improving. Something to break this downward spiral he�s been in. he mentioned that now all he needed to do was convince his friend to let him have two instead of one. I of course asked why, and he said so that he could have one for someone to eat with him. he started mentioning the people he could call, who were the people he�s want to hang out with and offer the X to. He even mentioned his brother, even thought he has purposely had almost no contact with him in about a month. I didn�t say much, just waited until he seemed to be mulling over who it should be, then I laughed and said, �so I don�t even make the list?�
I guess he was shocked. He said he wasn�t comfortable being someone�s introduction to drugs, and I had to remind him that although I�ve never done X, I�ve done my own, small though it may have been, share of experimenting. He wasn�t really comfortable with the idea, clearly it hadn�t entered his mind and he kept saying �I don�t know, I don�t know� over and over. I didn�t push the subject, merely contradicted his remarks and answered his questions. I don�t know, I don�t know. He said it could be an uncomfortable situation, I didn�t push on that point either, just let him stew it over.
We got to his friend�s place and he went in to make the trade. He also made a call to another friend to say he�d be along shortly. I assumed this was his answer to me, that he really wasn�t comfortable with it and I didn�t say any more about it. As I drove him towards the second place we got talking about other things, friends, etc, and I mentioned my theory about me being somewhat the eye of the storm, as people around me seem to always be in turmoil, but my own life is fairly uneventful. I jokingly said I�d take the blame for it all.
Have I mentioned that he is a terrible navigator? Well, during all of this we had taken several wrong turns, so I jokingly added that I�d take the blame for those too. In fact, that was my night to take on the blame for everything�. That sort of became out running joke for the evening.
When you are going to venture into something you are not that familiar with it is always a good idea to have an experienced guide. As think I�ve mentioned before, the boy has had a long life with drugs, both partaking and making his living that way until recently. Felony convictions and rehab have a way of making one make certain changes. He no longer deals, and partakes in some, but tends to stay away from the opiates, which is where his addiction lies.
So we were driving along and he pulled out his bottle, inspected a pill, and swallowed. He pulled out another, hesitated, broke it in half and handed it to me. I laughed and asked if he wasn�t going to say it again: I don�t know, I don�t know, but he said the decision had been made so he wasn�t thinking that any more.
Anyway, the second stop we made was for �remedies� to help with the hangover effect. It was then that I realized this was where opiates came into the picture and of course, my concern was actually awakened. Was this a good idea? Not for me I mean, but for him? was this opening a door to something that could lead him back down that road?
But the decision as he said had already been made, and we headed back to his place.


TO BE CONTINUED�



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link