fruit salad

08.08.2005 at 11:03 AM


My grandmamma grew up in Manhattan. Her mother was from My Island, but moved down to the states (for nursing school I think) and ended up marrying a widower there. They kept a summer home on My Island, and when my grandmother grew up and had children of her own she kept up the tradition of summering on My Island. She ended up buying the big house down the road from her mother�s, the house she had always admired as a child.
The house had been that of a sea captain and overlooked the mouth of the river, but was in complete disrepair when she bought it. The floor had fallen in and almost everything had to be rebuilt. But my grandmother who grew up during the Great Depression, was not stranger to hard work, and did not take the luxury of a large house for granted.
When my sisters and I were little we gloried in the food that grandmamma would stock up for our visits. And among all the junk and sugary treats, she always had plenty of fresh fruit too. In particular grapes and oranges. With grapes she was particular, we were to take a clump, and dispose of our own �skeletons� (or empty stems from the clumps) however, delighting in the casual antagonistic relationships we had, we always would instead lean over to the fruit blow, plucking one or two grapes at a time, and eventually leaving the �skeleton� in the bowl. Hehe
Oranges however were a different story. Oranges were reserved for Orange Parties. Sort of like a tea party I guess, but since tea was not something we partook of, we had Orange Parties (and it is always pronounces Arange in this context) We would slice the oranges in pretty slices and sit around the little table, extending our pinkies and invariable dripping down our chins. Not as dainty as a tea party I�m sure, but it was our thing.
I was thinking about it this morning as I cut up an orange (Arange) to take to my desk.


In other fruit news�. My arm looks like the inside of a bruised apple where they pumped back in the blood after extracting the platelets. The bruise is about the size of a Ritz cracker and is now turning from purple and green to brown and yellow.


You will be able to have fun and to dedicate your time to a hobby of yours. In love, you should not confide your problems to your friends because someone could annoy you and cause problems to your relationship with the partner. In work, do not refuse an assignment because it seems too engaging; by accepting it you will have excellent possibilities for professional growth.


bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link