Monologue or should I say Mange-ologue

Wednesday, May. 26, 2004 at 3:58 P.M.


Why is it that we learn to fins comfort in food? Is it because as a baby the first thing we are offered when upset is something to fill our mouths? Is it because the sensation of a full stomach edges us closer to the comfort of sleep where we can forget our worries?

Is it because if our moth is full we are less likely to spew out the views and emotions we guard so carefully?

Why have we not yet learned to express how we are feeling, to let the words flow instead of letting the plates empty?

Why can�t we see food simply as the fuel that it is, not as the comfort we are craving?

And why is it that we choose to obtain our comfort fictitiously from food rather than from relationships that should be providing that fulfillment? Why do we hang back from the real emotions and cling to the insulin induced ones? Is it because we can control the latter?

Is it because our real emotions can never be manipulated by a sugar-high or a full tummy? By doing this we are further promoting our distance from real relationships. The more I weight, the fewer people that are attracted to me, the fewer I might actually get attached to, and fewer end up disappointing me. What a marvelous protection plan I have developed! What an ingenious way to insulate myself from emotions, keeping the pain, but also the joy away.

My illustrious plan, while perhaps unconsciously instituted, is protecting me from harm, but also holding me back from what I really crave in the long run.

So how do I learn to change my behavior? How do I learn to see beyond the immediate snack promising the illusion of comfort, and look at the real happiness that could lie in my future if I would just empty my mouth, ignore the current self pity, and challenge myself now to make myself stronger for the future?



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link