Terms of Endearment

Sunday, May. 16, 2004 at 12:56 P.M.


Each person has terms they use for the people that mean something in their lives; sweetie, honey, sweetcheeks. There are so many terms of endearment for all types of situations and relationships. But they don�t have the same connotations to everyone. One of my old coworkers used to call people �My Friend� when he was being sincere and trying to build trust. But that term revolts me. That is what my dad used to say when he was bawling someone out. �Listen here My Friend�. It just grates on me, makes me queasy, makes me feel like I�m being reprimanded.

There is another term that I don�t think I see the same way as others. I despise it when people call me Kiddo. Unlike the My Friend term I do not have any specific reason for disliking it. It simply makes me feel juvenile, cutesy. Especially if I am called that by someone whose respect I am trying to win. It just makes me feel less that equals, superficially childish.

I�m not sure why it bothers me so. I know that it is not meant as an insult, but it makes me feel like a kid talking to someone who sees me as a child. I don�t like being seen as a child.



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link