Expanding the comfort zone

Tuesday, May. 11, 2004 at 7:40 A.M.


Well, the gusty southwest winds from yesterday did more than fill the sky with dust. I guess as out first dust storm of the season it wasn�t that bad, although you might have had a hard time convincing me of that when I felt the fine grit between my teeth. These storms, almost always blow in from the coast and after stirring up every morsel of loose earth and litter, they bring the rain that settles everything down again. Aahhh there is nothing like the clean smooth blossomy air of a cool morning after the rain.

But now back to reality. You know you are getting old when the excitement for new laundry machines outweighs the disappointment of having to shell out the dough for them. Last night after the delivery guys installed the machines in a much faster time than I expected, I set in right away for the christening of the things. Cheerily I finished up the laundry I had started Saturday when the thing decided to go kaput. While changing the almost 2 months worth of dirty clothes into cleaner versions of the same things, I realize that my wardrobe has definitely taken a turn for the feminine. Not so much with style, although there are definitely a few pieces that sticks out, but mostly with color. As someone who stuck with black as a staple of every shopping trip for so many years, I have discovered that I now have an alarming amount of items ranging between the red/pink/orangey shades. Especially strange considering that not only was black my staple, but I flat out refused to wear pink in any way. Shape, or form for over a decade.

What has happened? Am I finally accepting my feminine side? I used to say, �The only thing I do simply because I�m a girl is wear tampons, everything else I choose because I want to, not because I�m a girl.� (sorry if that�s a little too much information for you)

Anyway, I guess embracing my girliness also includes the adventure of dating, which as you know, I have been trying to do. I joined the eHarmony site a while ago as kind of a joke when one of our fellow Diaryland was wailing about having no matches. I�ve chatted with several people but haven�t attempted meeting any of them until this past Sunday when I was mercilessly stood up. Aaahhh, well, so those of you who know me at all, know that my nature is to turn my back, and not look back, but this whole stretch-outside-your-comfort-zone movement I�ve been on (And listening to BrittaBear) has me thinking of giving this guy a second chance. His apology after stated that he was there but didn�t see anyone that fit my description, (which after he told me when her got there and what he had been wearing I knew exactly who he had been) and that he was �too shy to just go up to strangers� made me wonder how he was planning on talking to me if he had recognized me�I was still as stranger. Anyway, BrittaBrea is convincing me to give him the benefit of the doubt (apparently this guy reminder her of her adorable little brother hence he deserves a second chance)

Anyway, in the meantime, another eHarmony guy has asked me to meet up. We haven�t chatted that much and I�m going to try this tactic for a while. I have tried the emailing for a while before meeting but that hasn�t been working at all either. All I end up with is a list full of contacts in my hotmail account that I never hear from. So we�ll try having a face-to-face early on and see what happens.

Here�s to expanding that comfort zone!



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link