Blood is Thicker than Water

Wednesday, Apr. 28, 2004 at 8:08 A.M.


Today will bring a new experience for me. I�m going to donate platelets at the local Red Cross. I donate blood every 2 months or so and they asked me if I would like to try donating platelets so I thought I�d give it a try.

Now the funny thing is that back in January they asked if I�d like to try and they did a little test on my blood and said I wasn�t a candidate because my count was too low. So I asked them if there was anything I could do to affect it so I could donate and they said not really. So the next time I went in they tested me again and said that I was eligible (I guess the mysterious count went up)

So last week they finally called to schedule an appointment. So, not really knowing what affects the count I have been trying to eat well and take my vitamins this week, hoping that will keep the count up. The whole process takes between 1 �-2 hours. They pump the blood out, separate it, and pump part back into me. Should be interesting.

The most interesting part I think will be the fact that I have to be stationary the whole time, so my normal pattern of guzzling water all day is going to have to stop around noon, otherwise I could see that being a problem.



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link