Oldies-Fest

Tuesday, Apr. 27, 2004 at 7:30 A.M.


No I�m not referring to my new age starting with the number 3. There is a festival here every year where old bands come and put on a whole day of music. It�s like a vintage Lollapalooza. This year the bands include BTO, and the lead singer from Three Dog Night among others. But the real kicker for me is Kool and the Gang. That�s right! Those disco-loving often funky and even more often cheesy guys are headed here! I was so excited when I heard that I almost peed my pants!

They have been a long time favorite in my family. Even before we discovered the wonder that is ABBA (which is a great background for Barbie fashion shows) we were boogieing to Kool an�Da Gang, courtesy of our Saturday Night Fever LP. My bother, just 2 years my junior and I used to turn of all the lights in the living room, and dance our little feet of by the glow of the monstrous stereo amplifier. And all those early years of practice paid off when in high school we came in 2nd place in an impromptu disco-dancing contest to the Kool and the Gang song we knew best: Open Sesame (I am the genie of Funk!)

But now, as I have this chance to see these marvelous icons live, I have no one to go with. It�s not the kind of thing you can drag someone to, insisting they�ll have fun. It�s the kind of thing where you want to go with someone who is just as ridiculously excited as you are to be there. The only person I know here who fits that description is my little sister, and wouldn�t you know it, she�s moving out of town 2 days before the concert. Talk about bad timing!

Who knows, maybe I�ll get up the nerve to go alone, that would be better than going with someone who really doesn�t want to be there, but it would be soooo much better to have someone to dance and joke and have fun with.

So there it is, I am Kool, minus a Gang.



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link