standing on my own

Saturday, Apr. 24, 2004 at 8:46 A.M.


We were at a seminar/activity for work yesterday and we were talking about effective communication and the leader asked us to think of someone �elder� who we really respect, and what is it about them that inspires that respect. And I realized that I no longer have someone like that. I used to respect my grandmamma that way, but after feeling so attacked during the �confrontation� during my trip i9n match, I no longer have such a glowing respect.

So I was sitting there realizing that I no longer have this long standing icon that I am aiming to be like. I have just realized that I am no longer pulling myself up this hill behind someone, striving to be like them, but I am standing out on my own.

I am no longer in the shadow of some false icon, I am blazing my own trail, following in the path of no one.

It has been a weight lifted, i am no loger held down by an unreal expectation for myself. All i need to do is be me, do what i think is right, and stop comparing myself to others.

bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link