Van the Man

Sunday, Apr. 04, 2004 at 9:30 P.M.


I turned on the radio as I pulled onto the highway. The classic rock station was playing an evening of Van Morrison, the perfect music for this evening with its late sunset shining across my sunglasses, the smell of clean baby still lingering on my hands after bathing my little niece.

Now most people, after a weekend with a new mom and baby would probably feel less inclined to want that�the leaking breasts, the healing stitches, trying to figure out what each different cry means�..but I�m not most people. I just wanted to sweep up the baby and take her home with me. Even after the messy diapers and the goo around the base of the umbilical cord (which is still attached)�but it just makes me look forward more fondly to the day when I will have one of my own, instead of being the favorite aunt.

The weekend was nice. We hung out, did baby stuff, did sister stuff. It�s been a while. It�s hard when your siblings get married, suddenly they don�t belong to you anymore.

My other little sister had her baby this weekend�two weeks overdue, and now she has her own little daughter. They are too far away for me to get to visit though, and the one who lives close now is moving away in June so I have to fill up on baby time while I can.

But it was a nice weekend and the drive home was a perfect end for it�thanks Van!



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link