Is that supposed to be an insult?

Wednesday, Feb. 04, 2004 at 8:33 P.M.


People always tell me I�m eclectic. I take it as a compliment, even when it�s said with that hesitant, not-too-sure tone. Eclectic is good. It means I choose what I like. Not what someone else sees relevance in. Not what someone else thinks should go together.

My house is a barrage of colors, why live in a flat white space? My music collection ranges all over to board. Why limit yourself? My life has spanned many genres, poetry, tragedy, documentary, adventure. Why stop there?

Who wants to be summed up in one idea? I am not a person you can take one look at and figure me out. Who wants to live life with nothing emerging, no developments?

My life is a collection of things I have been, places I�ve gone (physically and figuratively) people I�ve known, and the person I will always be developing into.

My home is a perfect example. My living room is mustard yellow. Unsightly to think about, but warmly comforting when you are enveloped in it. My furniture was not bought in one fell swoop. I learned well, to start with the basics that you find for a bargain while you look for the things you really like, also found at a bargain, to slowly morph into a space that is me. My large wall is covered from start to end with old window frames. Only the one I refinished and turned into a mirror is remotely restored. The others hang in their chipped and half-painted glory, some with the glass still in, but most without. They bring texture and view to what would otherwise be a big yellow wall. I think somehow bringing the feel of outside in reminds me of my grandparents� living room, walls covered with unvarnished wooden shingles. My �entertainment center� is an old dresser, drawers removed, providing shelves for the odd assortment of videos and DVDs I love. My stacks of books are neatly piled on shelves constructed of stacked bricks and painted 2x8�s, open to view whenever my eye wanders. My old couch, soon to be someone else�s old couch was a 3rd or 4th level hand-me-down. Ugly but damned comfortable. It is being replaced this weekend with an item I never would have seen myself going for before, but somehow it hit the spot. The new one is dark purple, sure to be constantly covered in cat hair, but I don�t care. The cushions are full and soft, with almost terrycloth-like fabric. I look forward to many weekends longing on it. I don�t care that nothing else is purple. I was delighted to find it, a floor model on sale because it was no longer part of a set. Who wants a SET? I don�t want to walk into my living room and feel like I walked into a Sears catalog. That would not be me. That would not feel like home.

So, I�m eclectic, I wouldn�t have it any other way.



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link