Differences

02.05.2009 at 2:55 PM


Well, while things are a little slow at work I should go ahead and try to get back into the swing of writing. As I mentioned in my last post I have moved back to Canada. After being in the States for a little over a decade it is so nice to come home to my homeland. But there are some things that have taken getting used to:

- Recycling is BIG up here. Garbage pick-up includes Blue Box (cans, bottles, plastics) Grey Box (paper cardboard and plastic bags) and Green Bin (organics and kitchen waste).

- Cell phones are impractical up here because the plans don�t include much and are quite expensive.

- Grocery stores seem to close around 8 or 9. I loved living where most of them were 24 hours and you could go whenever. Malls also seem to close at 6 on Saturdays. Weird!

- I have yet to find any good Mexican food. I believe that the Mexicans who migrate to Utah must come from a different region from those who come up here and that accounts for the different flavours. Oh how I miss La Puente in SLC.

- Banks are completely different here. Free checking and no fee banking seem to be things from south of the border. Everyone up here wants to charge an arm and a leg for everything. Even ATM fees from your own bank run rampant and free online banking doesn�t seem to have caught on either. (PC banking seems to be the exception but they are a different kind of bank where they only have kiosks in grocery stores and no actual banks with tellers.)

- I live in an area where there are lots of vineyards and golf courses.... which makes for a lot of golfing drunkards.

- I no longer have to pay out of my pocket to go to the doctor, but doctors in the whole area are so much in demand that none of them seem to be taking new patients. We got in with one through a connection but I don�t like her attitude or approach to my health issues but I feel like I can�t go anywhere else because no one is accepting new patients. I liked being able to shop around and find doctors in the states who dealt with my health in a manner I agreed with.

- Dollar stores are EVERYWHERE. Dollarama is the biggest chain of them and has pretty decent and consistent stock. Although I rarely walk out of there without spending at least $20, I know I have saved at least $100 on household items compared to if I had bought them elsewhere.


That�s all for now kids!
NT


bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link