poppies

11.10.2005 at 8:52 AM



I actually remembered to have my mom send me some poppies this year. I never realized they didn�t do that down here, and every year I forgot to ask her to send some until it was too late. For those of you who don�t know what I�m talking about, here in the US, November 11th is Veterans day. In Canada it is called Remembrance day, and it is more widely observed. Poppy-shaped lapel pins like this

adorn most adults jackets or shirts. It�s a way of saying we remember and thank everyone who has fought for our freedom.
Anyway, every year I forget about them until it�s too late, but this year I remembered and had my mom sent me a few.

Yesterday�s word of the day- (that I never got around to posting)- discomfiture-
(noun) [dis�KUM�fi�choor', dis�KUM�fi�chahr]
1. anxious embarrassment: "Everyone shifted in their seats as the discomfiture in the dining room grew."
Origin:
Approximately 1325; from Middle English, 'desconfiture' ('discomfit,' from Old French 'desconfire': to defeat, to destroy, from 'des-': not + 'confire': to make, to accomplish + '-ure.')

Word of the day- vexation
(noun) [vek�SAY�shahn]
1. the act of troubling or annoying someone: "The tight living arrangement was a great source of vexation for the whole family."
2. the psychological state of being irritated or annoyed
3. something or someone that causes anxiety
Origin:
Approximately 1375; from Latin, 'vexation-,' from 'vexare': to shake, to harass + '-ion.'


Urban word of the day -too easy
A common phrase in response to anything that needs doing or has been done. Often used even when the task is not "too easy". It becomes contagious.
"How you going on that report Michael?"
"Too easy"..."All over it"
Can be used in conjunction with "All over it" for extra effect or "All over it like a rash" for even more impact


Today you will be so romantic and will show your feelings with extreme sweetness, so you will be able to melt even an iceberg! Take advantage of this moment, you could seduce whoever you want. In work, let the others be pleased by your actions.



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link