A Dr Phil-ism?

Tuesday, Jun. 01, 2004 at 11:34 A.M.


A few years ago I happened to catch a bit of an Oprah show where Dr Phil was on giving his all-too-obvious-advice. Now I don�t distinctly dislike the man, I think he has some good things to say, but I also believe that anyone with any shred of common sense could come up with the same answers. I don�t know if it�s a matter of being told by someone who has a PhD, or if it�s that these people honestly don�t recognize the problems and their solutions�but whatever I�ve gotten off the point.

I remember something he said hitting home with me. He said that humans are creatures of habit and we do what works. The idea is that everything is really in our control, but we make the choices we do simply because one outcome is more desirable than another.

By this reasoning, I am the one who chooses to be fat. Not only is it a byproduct of my lifestyle, but it is actually the GOAL of my lifestyle because I have to work at it. It takes less effort to eat less than it does to eat more. It takes more effort to find other things to do than to exercise, and these are my choices. The thing is, unlike others who need the words to come from someone with authority, I already know what i need to do, it's just a matter of doing it.

When you start thinking about things this way it chances your perspective, and you begin to wonder, why do I choose to be fat? Is it my way of hiding from the things that scare me? Is it my camouflage in a world that only wants to acknowledge perfection?

I�ve spent so long learning to like who I was inside, that I forgot that caring for myself outside is another measure of my self-worth. If I refuse to take care of my body, me health, essentially, my life, do I really value myself as much as I pretend I do?

Anyway, here is to my recent awakening that I need to show the world that I am confident in my abilities and that I do care about revealing the person inside, instead of hiding her.



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link