What happened with Steven

Monday, Jan. 26, 2004 at 11:35 A.M.


As I mentioned before, Steven has been missing now for over ten years. How does this happen? How does a person vanish, never to be seen or heard from again? No it's not like he just removed himself from my life, he has been removed from all lives... let me go back to the beginning�.

I�ve known Steven since Kindergarten. He was one of the many boys I had a crush on, and chased around the cloakroom in our little rural school. Being the tomboy I was, I was great friends with most of the boys my age. As years went by, and as boys became �icky� and then �not-so-icky� Steven was always there. He was one of the first boys to stuff grass down the back of my t-shirt during recess, to give me a face full of snow, to terrorize the �girls� fort in the woods behind our school.

Of course, as we got older, the icky-factor seemed to fade. Boys were not quite the enemy the used to be, especially Steven. By the seventh grade there was definitely a connection there. But that is when life changed for me and my family moved away from my island.

And that was when things started getting interesting. As I�ve mentioned before, this was when I really started relying on written communication. Letters were what kept me in contact with my friends while I was off starting my new life. Of course, the letter writing with most friends tapered off, even after my first few visits back to my island. But Steven was one who continued to write. In between writing and my occasional visits we had pretty regular contact, all the while remaining friends. We�d talk about everything, parents, school, our respective siblings, the people we each were dating, etc. But getting to see Steven was always a highlight of my trips home.

We had this unspoken understanding that we would end up together. Well, not totally unspoken, we used to joke about in our letters. We�d talk about how we�d live in an igloo in Siberia, and I�d be outside playing with our children, and he�d be inside writing poetry and baking bread (his idea, not mine).

I always felt bad that we never had a chance to see where things might go, because every time I came for a visit he had a girlfriend. And then came my visit at the end of his senior year. I went home to my island to see my friends graduate. I was spending three weeks there, one with Gethin, one with Steven, and one with Rachel (Steven�s girlfriend at the time and my longtime friend). Of course my stay with Steven did not go without incident, but we don�t need to go into that. He stayed with his girlfriend and I went home at the end of my visit.

We continued out normal contact patterns, letters and occasional phone calls. I started making plans to move back to my island the next summer so I could start my life over there, and be close to Steven.

And then the call came, that Tuesday in March. It was Rachel and she seemed very strained. She asked me if I�d heard from Steven and I said no and asked why. And that�s when she told me that he has been missing since the weekend.

No one had seen or heard from him in over 3 days. He had walked out of a pub, late at night, with no coat, in the middle of a snowstorm. He didn�t even have his wallet on him. He couldn�t get very far like that�.but whatever happened, it removed him from our lives.

So I found out because they thought he might have been heading out to see me. He had been restless recently talking about hitchhiking, and they were hoping I had a clue to his whereabouts. I didn�t.

We put a note at our front door in case he showed up in the middle of the day when everyone way gone. Each day I was on edge listening for the voice on the loudspeaker at school, calling me to the office. But they never did. Every day I got home as fast as I could to see if he was there waiting. But he never was

And so my life was launched into limbo



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link