Transcribed from my hard-copy journal.

Saturday, Mar. 13, 2004 at 9:14 P.M.


3/11/2004

This has been the longest day! I am now on a flight from Montreal to Charlottetown. It has been a day of mad-rushes, boredom, reading and naps. The first flight (there were three legs of this trip) started off just great-- we sat on the runway for an HOUR because they said there were flurries in Chicago where we were landing. When isn't there snow in Chicago??? So we left an hour late but made up some of the time and ended up getting into Chicago not as late as they said (And there was no fresh snow to be seen!) BUT seeing as i had a short layover to start with, this had the panic set in. I had ten minutes from the time we got to the gate before my next flight was supposed to leave. So i hopped on the shuttle to the other terminal and hauled-ass to get to my gate. I was freaking when i got to the gate because the doors were closed, the plane was there, and they were not letting people on board. so i just stood there, boarding pass in-hand, with i'm sure a pitiful expression on my face. I was expecting to see the jet pull away without me any second as i stood there mournfully cursing the weather advisors who would not let us take off on time.

But then a voice came over the loud-speaker announcing that my flight would begin boarding in just a few minutes. MY FLIGHT!!! It was supposed to already have taken off, the littleTV status screens had shown nothing about it beign delayed...what relief!

BUT, this was not the end of my trip...I still had another flight to catch once i got to Montreal. Was this flight leaving late going to screw up my connection there? Well, we actually ended up making up time on that flight too (typical when flying east across North america due to the jet stream) And we landed with what would be plenty of time for me to get my bag and go through cutoms and make it to the next gate. That is, if i could find my bag! The carosel area had emptied and there was still me and two other guys from my flight standing there empty-handed. So I went to the lost-luggage office in front of the customs desk and talked to them, but they told me that since it was so close to my next connection (less than 30 minutes now) that i should just leave my bag, go catch my connection, and file the report at my final desitnation,

3/13/2004

so i did. (transcribing Satur

I got in to Charlottetown just before midnight, rented a car, filed a lost luggage claim, and then because it was freezing rain got a hotel room instead of driving all the way out to my grandparents' place. They would have killed me if i tried, so i crashed at a cheapo hotel in town, headed out to their place in the morning, and headed back into town in the afternoon to pick up my lost bag. Let me just say, there is nothing quite so nice as the releif of knowing you will be able to dress in your own clean clothes in the morning :)

bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link