Island Girl

Tuesday, Jan. 13, 2004 at 9:50 P.M.


Have I mentioned that I grew up on an island? Not a sweaty, tropical island, but a crisp northern one that has real seasons, dirt roads, and snowdrifts as high as the roof of our shed. The beaches were my playground, the woods my secret kingdom, and the fields my domain.

My mother used to say that when I was a toddler the only thing that saved me from drowning repeatedly was that I was a girl and she could easily grab the straps of my swimsuit to pull me back to safety. I had no fear of water at all. Even with my lack of fear I still failed my first year of swimming lesions. But that had more to do with the frigid water temperatures in that part of the ocean than anything else. It�s hard to pass swimming lessons when you refuse to get in the bone-chilling water.

I think that island life may have something to do with my need for solitude now. As a child I was very social and outgoing, always craving activity. But as soon as my family moved from the island, familiar solitude was all I wanted.

I know, I know. You are probably thinking I�m nuts saying I enjoy solitude when I keep bringing up my lack of significant other. I guess I just want to find the right person to chare my solitude with. It can be a combined solitude. Not separated from each other, but from the rest of the world.

I always felt strangely as a child that my mom was so nostalgic for the mountains that were her childhood home, and that were so far away from her. But now that I am older I can appreciate her longing. For I am, and will always be an Island Girl.



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link