it's how things are done...

04.14.2022 at 2:35 PM


How much time in your life have you spent doing things because someone told you that was what was to be done. That was how things should be done…

What if those instructions were wrong? What if the instructions you have taken as fact, or the better road, is really just someone’s flawed opinion…

When I was in my late teens, I was still living at home and thus obligated to still go to church with my family, something puzzling happened that I still think about. A lady approached me after the church service and asked if we could speak privately. She was a friend of my parents, and I had babysat for her a few times, so not a stranger by any means, but not someone I was close with. We went into a side room and closed the door. She told me that she had been harbouring hard feelings against me and wanted to forgive me and apologize for her feelings…… no further explanation.
Seriously… NO. FURTHER. EXPLANATION.
It was a did-you-know-I’m-mad-at-you-but-I-don’t-want-to-tell-you-why-and-I-don’t-want-to-be-mad-anymore-so-I’m-sorry-and-please-forgive-me kind of thing

Now I know what she was trying to do. She was trying to follow the church lessons of forgiveness and yes I guess that was a good thing…. But whoever thought up that you had to openly forgive/apologize for unknown harms… seriously. I mean sure, it probably gave her peace of mind. A feeling that she was a better person for moving on from whatever problem I had caused… but you know what it did for me… 30 years of wondering what the heck I, a mostly well-behaved teenager who generally tried not to rock the boat, did that pissed off this mom of 5.


bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link