Are We There Yet?

04.29.2011 at 10:38 PM


Well this cold may be marching backwards. I woke up this morning with a sore throat again, much to my chagrin. It dissipated quickly, but I thought the sore throat introduction to this cold was finished.

Although now that I think about it, it may have had more to do with the fact that I probably slept all night with my mouth open since I'm so stuffed up.�

He made soup the other night for dinner (left out the pasta and potatoes to make it lower carb for me) and I couldn't even taste it. Well, all I could taste was the cayenne.

I probably was snoring last night too with my mouth open like that. Generally I don't snore that much but he does. It got so bad this winter that I started sleeping in the spare room.
Things were really super busy at work for a while and I was working 12-hour shifts for several weeks and really needed a decent night's sleep to be able to keep up that pace for an extended period. So I took my pillows and reading book to the futon in the guest room and have been camped out there ever since.

He was supposed to go to a sleep clinic once and even had an appointment but cancelled it since it interfered with a golf tournament. That was two years ago and he has never rescheduled.

It would also probably help the snoring a lot if he would try to lose some weight, but I am opting to try to lead by example on that one since I am in no position to point fingers. �Yet.

Today was the first day in the week and a half since I started back on the low carb path that I finally got my carbs down to the correct level to get my body moving towards ketosis. Now if I can just keep it up that will be great. I have to say I love this food calculator app I got on my iPod called "Daily Burn". You just plug on that amounts of foods you are eating and it gives you not only the nutritional breakdown of each food, but also daily totals and you can set goals for those totals. Very helpful. It also has a section for logging workouts and will calculate calories burned. Will start working more on that after the trip. Oh, and I also found a few cool low-carb podcasts. I've listened to a few by this one lady and so far am pretty impressed. A very helpful motivation tool.

I know with the upcoming trip it will be difficult to be very strict, but I still plan on keeping track of everything whether I'm good or bad just so I have an accurate record.

And speaking of the trip, one�week from right now, if everything goes well, we should be arriving at our final destination on PEI. We will only be there for about 5 days but it will be nice to be home. I haven't been back to my island in the springtime since our last spring before we moved in 1987!

Tomorrow starts my last 6-day stretch at work before hitting the road, so I've really got to start working on my to do list... Which starts with ditching this cold. �And to that end I bid you all good evening as I am off to bed.



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link