roles or rules?

04.11.2011 at 12:36 PM


Last year I was working a seasonal job.
Menial administrative work at a local private golf club with a boss who made me pullout my hair in frustration.
I was not happy and was pretty much looking for a new job after being there for a few months.
The first winter I was not laid off like the other seasonal workers but last winter I was. And I took the time to put extra effort in my job search went to the gym every day, did at least an hour or two of chores and projects around the house each day, ran all the errands and cooked all the meals plus drove him too and from work every day so He would not have to pay for parking.
I kept him up to date in what I was doing each day so he would know hat just because I wasn't working didn't mean I wasn't working. I also told him about jobs I saw, applied for or hoped to get.
When the spring rolled around I went back to work at the crap job but kept looking daily for something else since I knew I was not happy where I was.

So, he was not happy at work for a lot of last year. They changed the program he had to work with to a program that could not perform the functions they needed and then blamed him that he could not get the data.
I didn't know it was that bad until one day he came home and announced that he was going to quit the next day.
Now, I am of the mind that you do not quit your job until you have a new one lined up.
So I said he should stick it out for a while and in the meantime start looking around and working on his resume.
He had been at this job for over two years and had not updated his resume since long before that.
So we started brainstorming words and phrases to use in job descriptions. At the time I had been looking for a new job for almost two years straight so I had a pretty good handle on what was out there and current phrasing and qualities people were looking at.
I even took my nicely formatted resume and pulled out my info and added his in. But there were obvious gaps and details I could not fill in for him
But he did not work on it.
Nor did he look for a replacement job.
He kept the crap job, worked longer hours and alternatively complained or kept silent until he was ready to quit again.

In November they gave him notice that they were officially changing the job description for his position and he would have no job as of dec 17
I freaked out
I had finally found a new job that as not seasonal but paid barely over minimum wage. How would we manage?

Even then he did not fish the resume.

Before I moved here he told me once that he had a girlfriend who would always ask what the did that day and he would get mad because he felt like she was pointedly asking if he had been productive. Since he wanted me about that i have tried to never ask him that.

But now four months after he left that job I have no idea if he is even looking for a job. I am scared to look at the resume on the computer and seeing that is still is not finished.

I wouldn't mind at all that he was unemployed if I at least knew he was putting some effort into finding something new.

It would also be nice if he did some of the things on teh To Do list or kept the house in order. Now, to be fair, I am not saying that he does nothing, but he is not doing more than he used to when he worked full time. Is it really wrong of me to expect more of him when there are 40 hours a week that from what I can tell are spent watching tv, reading and doing miscellaneous games and surfing on the computer?

I think after the example I was last year when I was laid off that he would have an idea that I expected the same from him. And yes I have told him as much. livingroom, family room and office as well as the storage attic are still a mess. Am I expected to be the homemaker when I am not the one at home all day?

bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link