We think differently about money.

04.09.2011 at 6:23 PM


I grew up with that fear of being poor. when I was little my parents said we were so poor we'd have to move to Saudi Arabia. We had a "World Boo"k and I looked it up. I pictures us living in a sand dune, wrapped in long robes with only our eyes squinting out into the blistering sun.

The lack of money was always something I was aware of and something that has always made me feel like there was a deep pit in my belly when I though about it. I still get that feeling when I think about how I felt about money as a kid.

He did not have that. His parents worked hard, had only 3 kids and invested well. He never had that fear as a child of having to live in a sand dune, so our financial perspectives are VERY different. I am always trying to have a buffer in my bank account. He always seems ready to let his parent's bail us out.

Now, I know that they are happy to do it, and I am glad to have such loving and generous in-laws. But it really bothers me that anytime something big comes up we have to go to them for money.

Not to say He isn't frugal. He will take days to research products to make sure we are getting the best value for out money. the problem is, we don't usually have the money to spend, or we spend on what I don't think we should.

I can certainly understand wanting to do something fun with our Christmas money, but when one of us in unemployed a flat screen TV when we have 2 large TV's that work fine, well it's just not a priority to me. I thought that a back-up sum-pump or putting large payments on our credit cards and spending only a little was a better idea. But since the money was coming from his family I let him sway the vote his way. New TV, new Blue Ray, a but load of Blue Rays and DVDs, CD, He went to town!

Now, it's not that I don't enjoy the stuff, I just was trying to be more careful with the money, especially considering He was alreayd out of work at the time.

So.
We think differently about money.

bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link