Getting a Jump on it

04.07.2011 at 8:21 PM


So, here we go. I am going to attempt once again to make this my regular sounding board. Things as you know are different, I am no longer the single �Bridget Jones� wistfully waiting for my Prince Charming to save me.

I�m now an �old married lady� with a husband who has been out of work for going on 4 months, does not seem to understand the my biological clock (or as I call it my �logical clock�) is beating down the door, and the two of us have not learned to communicate about the important stuff without one of us yelling (him) or crying (me).

The thing is, things aren�t bad.

We get along great as long as we aren�t broaching one of the sensitive topics.

We just never learned how to actually talk about the things that are important to us.

So I am hoping that in the efforts of airing my words here I will eventually be able to figure out how to say what I need to say.

And I promise it won�t all be bad and whiny.

So I am going to start with a list of things I am happy about:

1) I really like my new job. I started in September, and while it was a step down in wages, it has room for advancement, ability to work independently, and some not so bad perks. Speaking of, I just won an iPod 4 as part of a recent incentive contest.
2) I really like my new iPod ;p I am having fun searching out fun free apps � got any suggestions please send them along.
3) Spring has arrived and I am getting my garden stuff going. There s my portable greenhouse set up in the dining room with my tomato and various flower seedlings. I have a garden calendar to keep me on track of what I need to do each week so I will have plants ready to go out into the garden when the time is right.
4) My front yard cottage garden may not take so much work this year. This is the third year since we bought the house and scraped the weedy grass off the front yard and started the cottage style from yard garden. Here is a picture from two years ago http://www.flickr.com/photos/normaltoilet/3623687740/in/set-72157604784865741 The path is now a black mulch and lined with stones. I�m sure I will be taking an updated picture in a month or so when the plants start to fill in. The idea is that each year the plants will fill in more and more and less and less mulch will be visible.
5) I get to drive to PEI in a month to visit Grandmamma. I hadn�t really been planning the trip because of finances, but she is planning on moving houses again and trying to get rid of stuff. I will be happy to take any cast-offs and nostalgia I can fit in my car.
6) He did my American taxes for me. Anyone who knows me that if you just say the word �taxes� I turn green. I think I must have been a failed accountant in a previous life. And since I have dual citizenship and have lived in the US, now that I am back in Canada I will have to file in the US forever, even if I never move back. Stupid US Tax laws. So yes, rather than have me froth at the mouth or spend the $200 to have H&R block prepare the taxes stating that I am claiming nothing and owe nothing, He did them. Now they just need to be mailed. Oh and our Canadian taxes need to be done, but his family has a family accountant who does everyone�s, but even he won�t touch the US ones.


So, things aren�t all bad, in fact I have a few great things going on. I need to remember that.




bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link