And in the end...

07.09.2009 at 3:26 PM


So I�ve been seeing a Naturopath. I am just not happy with the reasoning or results from traditional western medicine. Nor do I like the attitudes of many of the doctors I have dealt with. And when it is concerning my own health I think I should have a little more faith that the person knows what they are doing. I just don�t get that feel from my doctor. She is very sure in herself and her mainstream views. I, on the other hand, not only disagree with her reasoning but her results as well. I feel like I could be feeling so much better than I do. I don�t lead an exciting life and it shouldn�t tire me so.
Anyway, so a coworker recommended a local naturopath that he has had great success with. I just had my 3rd visit this week and can�t say that I�m feeling any different really. But, along with the supplements I get from him he is having me change my eating habits. Of course, any doctor can tell you to eat more fruits and veggies but this feels like more than that to me. He is slowly working me towards an eating plan where I not only am adding lots of fresh veggies and lean protein (nothing new there right?) but also is starting to mention certain combinations and how they can help. For instance, he said that I can have fruit, but it should be limited to snacks and not with meals. This peaked my curiosity to find out why. I had thought that if you were to eat foods with a higher glycemic index that you were supposed to pair them with protein or fiber so that absorbs some of the sugar/insulin reaction. But he said that as soon as you eat any sugars (natural or not) that they start to ferment. So instead of your body processing your food properly the food is fermenting everything around it. Hmm ok, I�ll try that for a while.
Now if only I could get Evan to try what I want him to try. He is always drinking these crystal light things and juices etc. I would like him to try an experiment for a month and drink nothing but water. I told him and he asked me what I thought that would do. I just think the fewer chemicals the better right? But I don�t think he�s biting on that suggestion. Maybe I have to wait a few days and suggest we try it together as an experiment. Of course, it�s not much of a change for me. The naturopath has already had me change my breakfasts and lunches so the only time I am drinking anything but water is if Evan and I happen to have a beer with dinner.
Hhhmm. I might think on this a bit more and see if I can get him to agree. It�s only a month right?



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link