bogged down

01.10.2008 at 9:40 AM


I know, I know, another long gap. My trip to Canada was great, so nice to be with Evan (even though he was sick the whole time) and for the first time since I�ve been away I didn�t feel awkward to be back in Ontario. It felt good and comfortable rather than a place where there is nothing for me. I didn�t even feel awkward in my parents� house, which was a surprise.
They quite liked Evan and were happy but not completely surprised that I have decided to move back to Canada. My mom did mention to me though that she thought it was funny that out of all her kids I would be the one living closest to them. I, being the one who have the least in common with them and have always been somewhat independent will be closer than anyone. Of course, there will still be about a 4-5 hour buffer zone with Toronto in between so it�s not like I will be just around the corner. Just opposite ends of Lake Ontario :)
So now it�s 3 weeks left on the job here, and then almost 3 more until I actually move. Yikes! My goal was to get the condo all fixed up and listed in January, but I have been sick going on 3 weeks now and that has really slowed me down. I thought I was going so well at sorting and donating stuff, but I guess I really didn�t have a realistic concept of how much junk I actually have. I get so overwhelmed thinking about it and all the things I still have to do. And each time I think of what I should do, there are about 3 or 4 things that have to be done before that, and I just get bogged down. For example, I need to paint, but before I paint I need to remove the current baseboards and spackle and before I spackle I need to get furniture out of the way, and before I get furniture out of the way I need to actually sort/pack/donate the items that are housed in that particular piece of furniture.
I have still been taking a load each week of donation items and last weekend I took a whole carload of stuff up to Nathan�s place, but the place seems to be getting more full instead of more empty.
It hasn�t helped either that I have been sick and that moving around makes me cough so hard that I start choking, and sometimes even throw up a little. On my 2nd round of antibiotics now and I�m really wishing it would just all go away. I haven�t worked a full day of work since before Christmas!
But I have my to-do lists and keep updating and adding items. I have made many trips to home depot but have yet to actually use the items I�ve gotten. I still need to switch out several light fixtures as well as paint, eventually get new carpet, but I can�t really do that until I have a bit more money, and until the painting is done anyway. I ordered new windows and I should be able to get those installed next week, which means I need to remove all window coverings and make sure that I have all the furniture moved away from the window areas.
I guess I need to really focus on getting more stuff out of the way and into the storage unit so I feel like I have room to move. I finally clenched my teeth and cleaned out the storage unit yesterday, including sweeping out all the dusty film on the floor. That wasn�t good for my cough, but I know that that step has really been holding me back since I felt like I couldn�t really use the space until I got it under control. Now that that is done I can start stacking items in there, which will also help me get a realistic idea of if this stuff is really going to fit in a 10X5 trailer.
I have Bob, my fix-it guy, coming tomorrow to look at the to-do list I have for him. Stuff like replacing shower and sink fixtures (I won�t mess with plumbing) replacing light switches and outlets, putting in a new bathroom fan, etc. I can paint and spackle and replace light fixtures, but some stuff is beyond me and I�m too stressed out to learn something new right now. I�m still going to try to get everything done by the end of the month, but aside from being 3 weeks behind due to the nasty cough, I have the financial restraints that I have to figure out since I won�t actually have money until right before we leave (that�s why it�s 3 weeks after I end work to when I actually move because of the time restrictions on when I can cash out my 401K� stupid federal restrictions)
Anyway, so I need to just stop letting myself get bogged down with it all and just focus on the items I can take care of right now.
Wish me luck!


bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link