hurry up and wait

09.07.2007 at 2:05 PM


Maddening to me when other people�s work (or lack thereof stopped me from doing my job) I�m suppose dto be testing new fixes to a software but the guys broke it in their last update and I can�t even log in.

This week has been really busy and I have been meaning to update since Tuesday.

So last weekend I started work ion the community garden. Someone had gotten in there with a saw and weed whacker before I got around to taking my �before� pictures, but the weeds had been taller than me. And yes some were actually seedlings. It was nice that someone did that much but that was where it stopped, they left all the debris etc so that�s where I started. I got up early each day so I could work before the sun was hitting that spot and then I�d go back out in the evening for a bit. Sunday I was more sore than I think I�ve ever been in my life! I couldn�t even pick up the remote to watch tv so I just went to bed. Good thing I had Monday too to recover and recondition the muscles.
I got lots of debris moved and started forming what will be the center path. There is a 6+ inch of large gravel that I propose we just make the pathways from in between the plots. It makes for a lot of heavy work but they have to be moved. After working on it all by myself (other than the mysterious weed whacker) I have moved on to do serious clearing of what I hope to claim as my plot. I�ve been going at that the past few evenings, weeding, moving gravel and tr6ying to get rid of what�s left of some seedlings. After trying to move gravel and realizing I wasn�t being too efficient because I was taking lots of soil sawdust and other mulch materials along with it I came up with a plan for a contraption. I went last night and bought some chicken wire and stapled it onto and old square window frame. The gravel in the plot is pretty large so the 1-inch-ish holes in the wire should be perfect to let most of the other stuff through and sift out the rock which I can then deposit in the pathways. I am not trying to get all the rocks out, but I want to build short wooden retaining walls around my raised beds and need at least a solid surface for that. I got blisters on my hands too even though I was wearing gloves. Maybe I need some different gloves.
So far I haven�t seen any communication to the other tenants and have had no other help. I have though met a few people so that has been ok. But I want some decisions to be made so I know how many plots there will be, thus determining what the dimensions will be so I can start working on the raised beds.
I hate waiting on other people so I can get stuff done

Sunday I also did some canning, I did dill beans and plum jam. The dill beans are like pickles, but with green beans instead of cucumbers, and I made the plum jam with splenda, not sugar.


bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link