Dizzy world

08.22.2007 at 8:14 AM



Well, it has been an interesting few days. I decided a few weeks ago now that the thyroid was getting under control that I could finally go off of effexor. But it�s not a med you can just go off of because even if I miss one dose I get icky withdrawal side effects, namely vertigo. I have wanted to go off it for a long time, not only because I get sick within 12 hours of missing a dose (that can�t be good!) but I feel like I don�t need it as much (it�s for depression) since thyroid can play a big part in that. Also, some of the side effects are drowsiness and weight gain� things I don�t need to add pharmaceutically since my body does those on it�s own.
So I went to my doc and we decided to wean me off the effexor and switch me to a lower does of something else without those side effects. Anyway, so we started dosing me down, a week of � strength and a week at � of that and then off completely. So my last dose was Thursday and by Saturday I started feeling weird. By Sunday I was getting huge waves of vertigo every 5 minutes or so. By Monday the waves were getting smaller but more often, and so often I was actually getting waves of nausea.
Of course my dr isn�t in on Mondays, so I went and asked a pharmacist if there was something over the counter that I could take to reduce the vertigo and dizziness. He said I could take Dramamine, which is a motion sickness pill. So I got some and went to work. But it sucked, I couldn�t focus on anything and people kept telling me how terrible I looked. Finally I went home after sticking it out for 4 hours but really getting nothing done. Not to mention I had to bail on Kayla�s b-day party and I was supposed to take pics at it too. Monday night it was so bad I couldn�t even knit, just had to lie flat.
Tuesday was more of the same, but slightly better. This time I only got the vertigo/dizziness when I moved ;p. So I called the Dr�s office and told them what was going on and that the Dramamine wasn�t really helping and had them phone in a prescription to the pharmacy. So I�m taking this other stuff which is better than the Dramamine but not great enough to make all the dizziness go. This stuff seems to kick in after about 2 hours but wears off before I can take my next dose after 6 hours. But hey, at least I get some semi-normal hours in there, or so it seems. Hopefully the rest of it all wears off before Friday because I have to drive down to Provo to pick up my aunt Cathy and we are going to lagoon (amusement park with rides etc) on Saturday. I can�t very well do any rides if I am already dizzy. But I have to be there because it�s a work thing that I invited Nathan and his fam to go to and I can�t very well have them show up without me.


bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link