Facebook

07.14.2007 at 4:04 PM



I don�t know if I�ve actually written anything about Facebook yet. But I joined Facebook back in April after several urgings from Syd. I resister for a while. After all I was already on friendster, hi5, and myspace not to mention my diary here. Why would I want to join another �networking� site?
But finally I had a day when I needed to kill some time so I checked it out and joined.
I can�t believe how many people I know are on there, and how many people I have lost track of! My 5th grade best friend found me, also a lady I knew through my parent�s church when I was about 8!! I also tracked down some friends by finding family members etc.
One of the people I found is my friend Kara. She and I met at church camp when we were 12 and then were pen-pals.
After my family moved to Ontario our writing slowed down a bit, we saw each other once when I went back for a visit and then of course after high school we lost track of each other. A few years ago our paths crossed in sort of a funny way. (the world of Mormons is small especially when you live in Utah, the Mormon capital!) Laura was engaged at the time and her fianc� was living a few blocks away. He was getting to know his neighbors and they started talking. His neighbor was from Canada and he mentioned that his fianc�e was too. So through the conversation Kara realized she was living downstairs from my sister�s fianc�! Crazy huh? Anyway, so I went down and had dinner with them, we emailed a bit and once again lost track. I tried emailing her one time and the email no longer existed. I also thought they had planned on moving away so I thought they were lost once again to me.
But I got on Facebook and did not find Kara, but found her sister who gave me her email. Come to find out not only is she still in Utah, but lives literally five minutes from my office! So yay for Facebook! She and I have been catching up and I am loving it so much! Even though I�m not Mormon anymore and she still is we are still the kind of understanding open friends we always have been. It�s like I have a second bv! Actually I really wish those two could meet cause I think they�d love each other for sure!
So we arranged for me to come over and visit and she has 3 little boys (the first was still a baby when I saw them last) and her 4th is due in 8 weeks! She is a stay at home mom and her hubby works a lot and helps when he�s home, but still, being at home in the hot summer with 3 active boys when you are about to burst just seems like a lot (not to mention that she also works from home about 24-30 hours a week and is one of those women who make dinner for neighbors and watches kids for friends etc) so I�ve started swinging by after work so lend a hand and do what I can when I am feeling up to it. Obviously on the days when I am dealing with my own fatigue I don�t, but on days when I�ve made it through the whole day at work and don�t feel a nap coming on I head up the hill.
The first day I did that her oldest boy opened the door (he remembered me from my visit the week before) ahd he said she was sleeping and asked if i should wake her. i said no cause I was just coming to see if she needed a break and if she was getting a nap then she was already getting a break so it was all good. The next time thought I have to say I�m so glad I came, the boys were rowdy and she was feeling overwhelmed by a pile of laundry and also had promised to tend two neighbor kids one of which is a colicky 3-month old. So I stopped over a little before 4 and ended up staying until almost 8! I was able to tend the baby and toddler so she could get their dinner ready, I carried the folded laundry up and down to the bedrooms etc. she kept checking to see if I was ok with the kids etc and I made sure to tell her that if I was staying too long or if I show up at bad times she needs to let me know. But I also made sure she knew I was ok with helping out and wouldn�t have shown up if I didn�t plan to pitch in� it�s sort of how I pay for barging in ;p I waited until it was settle-down time, the kids were slowing down and I knew it would be easier for them to be good if I left for their nighttime routine. It was a good day, I figure if I�m not going to get to have my own family I will barge in on others� and make myself useful ;p


bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link