a bloody tale

09.13.2006 at 2:57 PM


So I did something new yesterday. I�ve sunk to all new lows and I actually sold myself�. Ok, I sold my plasma, so it�s not bad really. But let me say, the experience was less than stellar. I�m still not sure it was worth the $35.
First of all, let me just put this all into perspective by reminding you that I am used to going to the very nice large Red Cross center, and consider that THAT is a charitable organization whereas the lab I went to for plasma is a straight-out business. They are there to make money with your bodily fluids. Compared to that, the Red Cross is a day spa.
First of all the people: the employees of the lab were quite nice. Friendly, but rushed. Or friendly but bored. The one guy who did part of my physical exam seemed completely un-thrilled with his job that day. He was nice to me when we were just talking, but as soon as we got into the work-stuff he turned into a worn-out zombie.
The people, who like me, were there to leave a part of themselves in a plastic jug were another story. I supposed that considering this is a relatively effortless way to get money I shouldn�t have been surprised, but it just seemed, well, depressing. Ok, not everyone was depressing. There were several people with combed hair and clean clothes. Some you could tell had come straight from their job. But I�d say about 60% of the people had either not showered that day, or just decided to wear the previous day�s clothes.
Another thing was the place was extremely loud. Unlike the Red Cross where platelet donors are staggered in timing, and there are as many phlebotomists are there are patients, this place was a zoo! There were at least 40 donation beds and a full waiting room. When it was your turn to go back and donate they would come out and yell a list of names. I�m not kidding, YELL. On top of this, they had 4 pillars with televisions attached to the top of each side for donors to watch. I suppose in the actual donation area the volume was fine because they were spaced out a little more, but in the waiting area with closer quarters it was even hard to hear them call the patient�s name.
Even with that part aside, the rest of the experience was not terrific. The room was freezing, and anyone who has ever donated knows you almost always get cold. The Red Cross has blankets and heating pads specifically for this reason. The lab had nothing. Not even a sheet or anything to help stave off the frostbite. (ok it wasn�t really that bad, but between the cold room and obvious circulation limits during donation I lost feeling in the thumb and first three fingers of my right hand)
Like I said, the employees were nice but very rushed. Especially the phlebotomists in the donation lab area. Each one was tending at least 10 patients and then a few floaters who would bounce around the room trying to help where needed.
Now I�m no sissy when it comes to needles. I am fine with donating platelets where they have you hooked up on both arms, but this was not a good experience. The process for plasma like platelets takes the blood out, separates it, and returns part of it to you. The difference though it that with platelets it goes in one arm and out the other, and with plasma it goes in and out the same arm. Out for a while, then in for a while, switching back and forth until your plastic jug (looks like a nalgene water bottle) is full. This was actually kind of cool. It means you can hold a book, or write or something during donation where as with platelets both arms must remain straight and still so you watch a movie on a little tv with headphones. Cool I say because I had homework requiring reading and writing to do. So I asked her to use my left arm so my right would be free.
See, here comes the part where them being rushed is bad. She completely missed the vein. I think she might have just gone straight through it. OW! Getting stuck doesn�t really hurt when they get the needle IN the vein� when they miss like this it really hurts because blood starts leaking in the tissues around the vein and creates pressure. And that�s what hurts, not the actual incision.
Ok, so left arm ruined for that day, had to switch to the right arm. Once I actually got hooked up on the right arm it was ok. Oh yeah, except for the freezing, losing feeling in my hand, and not being able to write the notes to go with my reading for homework and left arm still hurting..
When I got home the punctured left arm was still leaking more than the right which I actually donated with. And was very sore (it�s gonna be one of those green/yellow bruises). Even this morning after I got out of the shower that left arm started leaking again. Right arm (which had a needle in it for 11/2 hours) is completely fine.
Normally the process should not take 3+ hours like it did last night. It was super busy, plus I had all the extra paperwork & health screening since it was my first time� but still is it worth 25/35 dollars? (different pay depending on your donation schedule)
I suppose if I can figure out when to go so it�s not so crowded, and hence the employees not so frazzled, it wouldn�t be bad. I could make an extra $60 cash a week which would be more than enough to cover groceries.

hhhmmmmmmmmm


bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link