Happy Camper

Sunday, Feb. 01, 2004 at 8:16 P.M.


I think I need to start watching more British films. The ones I have seen, although mainstream, have been great.

Why is it that someone from England can sound so proper and formal when they are making a huge ass of themselves? I know that we think of most accents as cool or interesting, but I�m sure other nations don't see us as cool and interesting when we stumble through our mispronounced attempts at their languages? It is somehow not so charming. Why is that? Is it because we broke away from the "old world" and are seen as some kind of lower-class degenerate culture? I have to agree with them, I don�t think it quite so charming when I see someone whose primary language is English struggling to say something simple in another language. Unless of course they are British, in which case it still sounds refined.

And with no smooth segue I�m going to go ahead and get this out of the way. I HATE Valentines Day. As someone who has never actually been with someone special anywhere remotely near that day, if find it a painful experience every year. It is a swift kick to the gut reminding me that not only have I not found any one of interest that I want to spend my time with, but no one as of yet has found me that spectacular either. And it seems that every year, the foil-covered hearts filled with chocolates and assorted other sweets wrapped in pink and red, are making it to the shelves earlier and earlier. This year I actually saw a whole aisle set up in the grocery store before New Years! What is up with that?

At least this year it is on a weekend. No sitting at the office all day, hearing people�s names being pages up to the front desk to receive various sentimental trinkets to flaunt. I will be able to successfully avoid the whole shebang and go out and buy some nice trinket for myself.

Anyway, enough self-pity for one night. I�ve finished my homework for last week, and I can make a half-assed attempt at this week�s work while perusing the numerous movies that are sure to be shown on all channels but the one that has super-bowl coverage. I am a happy camper.



bEfOrE ~ AftEr

  • : : :
    wHaT dO u tHiNk ?


  • What is a normaltoilet?

    If I have linked you here and you'd rather not be, just send me a
    mEsSaGe
    and I'll remove the link